History of Nanjing University   

Nanjing University (NJU) is one of China’s key comprehensive universities under Ministry of Education (MOE). From 1902 when it was known as Sanjiang Normal School, NJU evolved as Liangjiang Normal School, Nanjing Higher Normal School, National Southeast University, No.4 Zhongshan University, National Central University, and National Nanjing University. NJU took its present name in 1950. In the nationwide restructuring of colleges and universities, part of NJU merged with the School of Liberal Arts and the School of Sciences of the University of Nanking founded in 1888.